skip to main content

Safety Committee

Mission Statement

The mission of the Berryessa Union School District Safety Committee is to identify, evaluate, and take action to mitigate or eliminate safety and health hazards; to oversee and coordinate safety, health, and accident prevention training; to review, evaluate, and take action on other timely safety and health related issues as required.  
Committee Goals for 18/19 School Year
  • Addition of a digital radio frequency for the Maintenance, Grounds, Transportation, and Custodial Departments.  Integration of digital frequency for these radios will include access to the district emergency channel.
  • Update and standardize School Site Evacuation Maps.  These maps will include location of Utility Shut Offs, AED's, Fire Extinguishers, etc.  
  • Review and recommend Emergency Management and Communication Software for implementation as part of our safety protocols.
Safety Committee Participants 
  • Jill Tamashiro, Director of Student Services
  • Maria Smith, Vice Principal of Sierramont Middle School
  • Anthony Alberts, Vice Principal of Morrill Middle  School 
  • Gokcen Ceran, Vice Principal of Piedmont Middle School
  • Dan Norris, Maintenance Supervisor 
  • Catherine Aguilar, Administrative Secretary- Support Services
  • Kris Kamandulis, Loss Control Manager, Santa Clara County Schools' Insurance Group
  • Virginia Pender (Co-Chair), Principal of Ruskin Elementary
  • Miguel Cruz (Chair), Director of Maintenance, Operations and Transportation
Safety Committee Meeting Dates for 19-20 School Year
  • September 3, 2019
  • October 1, 2019
  • November 5, 2019
  • December 3, 2019
  • January 7, 2020
  • February 4, 2020
  • March 3, 2020
  • April 7, 2020
  • May 5, 2020
* All meeting are scheduled for 1:30pm at the BUSD Corporation Yard Conference Room.