Safety Committee

Mission Statement

The mission of the Berryessa Union School District Safety Committee is to identify, evaluate, and take action to mitigate or eliminate safety and health hazards; to oversee and coordinate safety, health, and accident prevention training; to review, evaluate, and take action on other timely safety and health related issues as required.  
Committee Goals for 17/18 School Year
  • Develop a prioritized Safety Committee calendar to review and implement the State and Federal required safety plans and Trainings.  
  • Take inventory of classroom emergency red back packs and emergency arch at each site, standardize what should be included and what should be periodically replaced. 
  • Update and distribute Emergency Response Guides (Flip Charts) to all BUSD Sites.  
  • Provide our sites with support in crisis management training.
Safety Committee Participants 
  • Mayra Waller, Human Resources Manager
  • Jill Tamashiro, Director of Student Services
  • Virginia Pender, Principal of Ruskin Elementary
  • Anthony Alberts, Vice Principal of Morrill Middle  School 
  • Gokcen Ceran, Vice Principal of Sierramont Middle School
  • Dan Norris, Maintenance Supervisor 
  • Esmeralda Torres, Administrative Secretary- Support Services
  • Kris Kamandulis, Loss Control Manager, Santa Clara County Schools' Insurance Group
  • Thomas Carroll (Co-Chair), Vice Principal of Piedmont Middle School
  • Miguel Cruz (Chair), Director of Maintenance, Operations and Transportation
Safety Committee Meeting Dates for 18/19 School Year
  • September 4, 2018 1:30pm at BUSD Corporation Yard
  • October 2, 2018 1:30pm at BUSD District Office 
  • November 6, 2018 1:30pm at Cherrywood Elementary School
  • December 4, 2018 1:30pm at Sierramont Middle School
  • January 8, 2019 1:30pm at Ruskin Elementary 
  • February 5, 2019 1:30pm at Piedmont Middle School
  • March 5, 2019 1:30pm at Morrill Middle School
  • April 2, 2019 1:30pm at Morrill Middle School
  • May 7, 2019 1:30pm at BUSD District Office